Friday, August 26, 2016

De La Soul Share New Album Documentary

The first De La Soul album in 11 years, And The Anonymous Nobody, has been released. Now, the iconic hip-hop group has shared a documentary on the making of the LP called We’re Still Here (now). Take a look!

Wolf Parade on 'Conan'

Watch Wolf Parade perform "Mr. Startup" on Conan.

Thursday, August 25, 2016

Quick News


Earlier this week, Liam Gallagher told Q magazine that he was working on new music but was not releasing a solo album. That all changed on Thursday after he released a press statement via Warner Brothers saying: "Very excited to be signing to the mighty Warner Brothers; looking forward to making some super sweet sounds. Keep the faith!” The record is due next year. Gallagher, always outspoken, called himself a cunt on Twitter after he felt he lied to his fans.

R.E.M. will reissue their seminal album, Out of Time in November for the record's 25th anniversary. The reissue will come in 3 formats - 2-CD, 3-LP, and a deluxe 4-disc set.

Former Keane frontman Tom Chapman will release his solo debut, The Wave, in October.

Kings of Leon have officially confirmed that their new album is called WALLS and released the tracklisting to the record that is arriving in October.
01 Waste A Moment
02 Reverend
03 Around The World
04 Find Me
05 Over
06 Muchacho
07 Conversation Piece
08 Eyes On You
09 Wild

VINTAGE CLIP: Aaliyah on 'Tonight Show' in 2001

Today marks the 15th anniversary of Aaliyah's passing. To mark the occasion we look back on this VINTAGE CLIP of the singer's final TV appearance in 2001 on The Tonight Show where she performed "More Than A Woman." The 22-year-old perished in a plane crash while filming a music video.

Steam Vince Staples' 'Prima Donna' EP

A day before it is released, Vince Staples surprised fans with his Prima Donna EP to stream. Take a listen!

VINTAGE CLIP: Faith No More Live at The I-Beam - 1986

Faith No More, who released We Care A Lot (Deluxe Band Edition) on Friday, share video of the band’s full 1986 I-Beam performance. Take a look at the restored full performance!

Anthrax on 'Meyers'

Watch Anthrax perform "Monster At The End" on Late Night with Seth Meyers.

Watch Prophets of Rage in Toronto

Prophets of Rage live streamed their Toronto concert via Facebook on Wednesday night. The gig also had a special guest as Dave Grohl came out and did a cover of MC5's "Kick out the Jams." If you missed it, watch it now.

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Quick News


Prince's secretive Paisley Park estate outside Minneapolis will be turned into a museum according to the late musicians sister. The estate will feature guided tours were visitors will see his living quarters, recording studio, wardrobe and other personal items. Tours begin in October.

Carlos Santana, Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter and Marcus Miller have formed a super group called Mega Nova. The group are set to make their live debut on August 24 at the Hollywood Bowl.

Speaking to Q magazine, Pixies Frank Black said when the band broke up in the mid 90s it was because they needed a vacation. He said: "Kim and I just didn’t get along well after a time. She always had her own ambitions and became comfortable in a leadership role in her other band. It must have been hard for her to be in a band where some other guy was always pulling at the reins. We would have survived if we could have just stopped the train and taken a fucking vacation. The people around us who were older should have seen that.”

Green Day's Billie Joe Armstrong also spoke to Q about the band's forthcoming Revolution Radio album and said that the massacre's in Paris and Orlando inspired  the song "Troubled Times." The singer said: "I don’t think anything like terrorism hit home right in our backyard the way it did that night. At first, I wrote it and thought ‘I don’t know if I want this on the album.’ It’s really heavy to write about and I didn’t want it to be trite or maudlin.” The band eventually put it on the record which will come out this fall.

Kings of Leon's Caleb Followill also spoke to Q, apparently everyone did this week, and said that their new album, We Are Like Love Songs, was inspired by his wife, supermodel Lily Aldridge and his battle with booze. The record was announced yesterday and is expected this fall.

Taking to social media, Flying Lotus confirmed that he will be putting out the new George Clinton record that he and Thundercat have been working on via his label Brainfeeder. He said that details are coming soon.

For the first time in 17 years, Letters to Cleo will release new music. The band will release the New EP next month. Take a look at the tracklisting, below:
Hitch a Ride
Back to Nebraska
Can’t Say
4 Leaf Clover
Good Right Here

Rare J. Dilla Mixtape Unearthed

Boiler Room has posted a rare J Dilla mixtape called Back to the Crib on their Soundcloud page. The tape was crafted somewhere between 1999 and 2000 in his Detroit home. Take a listen!