Thursday, June 9, 2011

Quick News

Taking to twitter on Sunday night, Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea noted that the band's latest album will be entitled I'm With You and it will be out August 30. This is the band's first record since guitarist John Fruscante left the band last year and their first album since 2006's double disc endeavour Stadium Arcadium.

Radiohead will be releasing remixes of their latest album, The King of Limbs as special 12" remixes of singles from the record.

After reuniting next year, Primus will release their first record in 12 years, the album, Green Naugahyde will be out September 12 on Dave Matthews ATO Records.

French ambient rocker M83 will release a double album in October and will feature assistance from Zola Jesus and Brad Laner of Medicine. This will be M83's first album since 2008's stunning Saturdays = Youth and his fifth album overall.

Philly's finest, The Roots are planning an "orchestral" album for their next release. Speaking to Billboard, drummer ?uest Love says “It’s going to be a challenge to figure out how to get from point A to B — or in this case, point B to point A and have it seem natural.” No release date has been set.

Chicago rappers The Cool Kids are set to release their sophomore record, When Fish Ride Bicycles in July. The album will feature collaborations with Pharrell Williams, Travis Barker, Bun B, Ghostface Killah, Travis Barker, Yelawolf.

In September the long awaited sophomore album from hip-hop duo Spank Rock will be released. The album entitled Everything is Boring and Everyone is a Fucking Liar will be the band's anticipated follow up since their impressive 2006 debut, YoYoYo.

Irish songstress Lisa Hannigan will release her sophomore disc, Passenger sometime this fall. Hannigan, who has been the female vocalist of Damien Rice's group, released her debut Sea Saw in 2008.

Speaking of Irish musicians, U2 have delayed the release of their new album until 2012. Now, the band have promised three albums, Songs of Ascent, a "club" sounding album and another "rock" record with the amount of material they collected from the No Line on the Horizon sessions and beyond. However, after touring, Bono's surgery and that fucking Spiderman play, the band have delayed the course of new material to next year. No word as to which album will arrive first.

UK lo-fi surf rockers, Male Bonding will return this August with their sophomore disc, Endless Now. Take a look at the track listing below:
01 Tame the Sun
02 Carrying
03 Seems to Notice
04 Bones
05 Before It's Gone
06 What's That Scene
07 Mysteries Complete
08 Can't Dream
09 The Saddle
10 Channeling Your Fears
11 Dig You Out