Monday, April 16, 2012

Quick News

Editors guitarist Chris Urbanowicz has left the band. The band, who are currently in the studio crafting their fourth album, said in a statement on the bands website, "In a decision entirely based upon future musical direction, and with huge sadness, Editors and Chris Urbanowicz have parted ways. In 10 years we’ve gone from playing tiny clubs in Birmingham to selling out massive shows across the globe as four friends together so this was a massively painful decision for all of us to make."

Former Hole guitarist Eric Erlandson told FUSE TV that Nirvana's Kurt Cobain had a whole album full of solo demo's crafted before he died. Erlandson said that no one has ever heard the demo's and stated, "He was headed in a direction that was really cool. It would have been his White Album. That's really what he was going towards, a solo album but working with different people."No word as to if or when the solo demo's will ever be released.

In other Nirvana news, Dave Grohl, Krist Novoselic and Nevermind producer Butch Vig are in the studio working on material together. The three last worked together for Foo Fighter's 2011 album Wasting Light,   it is rumored they are back in action to score Grohl's documentary on Sound City Studios.

Nelly Furtado has announced that she will be releasing her new album, The Spirit Indestructible on June 18.

In a recent interview with Rolling Stone, former Smiths guitarist Johnny Marr, for one of the first times in his post-Smiths career, did not brush off the idea of a reunion with the former Manchester indie gods. With the likes of Pulp, Blur, Stone Roses all burying the hatchet, Marr said, "I don’t know about the possibility, but what I do know is that I understand how great it would be to make so many people happy,” he then said,“The other thing I know is that Morrissey and I are so very different. Those are the only things I know.” While this is still not a concrete answer, in the past it is usually laughed off or met with a straight "no."

Public Image Ltd. have announced the full tracklisting to their anticipated new album, This is PiL, the album arrives in June.
1. “This Is PiL”
2. “One Drop”
3. “Deeper Water”
4. “Terra-Gate”
5. “Human”
6. “I Must Be Dreaming”
7. “It Said That”
8. “The Room I Am In”
9. “Lollipop Opera”
10. “Fool”
11. “Reggie Song”
12. “Out Of The Woods”

While the Coachella festival has been the talk of the music world, the festival's closing act - Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg did something that concert goers and artists will be talking about for years to come. They managed to bring Tupac back from the dead....well, sort of. The two took to modern technology that reportedly cost between $100-400 thousand to create a life size hologram of the late Tupac Shakur. Take a look at the performance of Dre and Snoop with "Tupac."