Tuesday, April 3, 2012

Quick News

In addition to our post about Fiona Apple's new album, the label has given a release date, it will finally arrive on June 19.

Are the sons of The Beatles set to form a band? In an interview with BBC, Paul McCartney's son, James revealed that the sons of the members of the Fab Four are in talks to form a band together. James said, "I don't think it's something that Zak wants to do. Maybe Jason [drummer and one of Starr's other sons] would want to do it. I'd be up for it. Sean [Lennon] seemed to be into it, Dhani [Harrison] seemed to be into it. I'd be happy to do it." Zak Starkey currently drums for The Who, as well as having a brief stint in Oasis.

Patti Smith will release her first new album in eight years. The iconic Smith will release, Banga, in June. The album was recorded at the legendary Electric Lady Studios in New York City.

Dirt Projectors have announced their new album. The record, Swing Lo Megellan will be released on July 10. Take a look at the tracklisting below:
"Offspring Are Blank"
"About to Die"
"Gun Has No Trigger"
"Swing Lo Magellan"
"Just from Chevron"
"Dance for You"
"Maybe That Was It"
"Impregnable Question"
"See What She Seeing"
"The Socialites"
"Unto Caesar"
"Irresponsible Tune"

Keyboardist Ryan Neighbors has left Portugal. The Man. Confirming on the band's website, Neighbor's said, "I know some of you have probably already heard this, but about a month and a half ago I decided to leave Portugal the Man. I did my first tour in the summer of 2007 and got asked to join the band that fall. I wouldn't trade a minute of it and it has been an incredible time." Neighbor's said he left the band for personal reasons, mainly to focus on his own music. Last fall we spoke with Neighbors, read that interview HERE.

Taking to Twitter, Black Keys drummer Patrick Carney has confirmed he is producing the new Royal Bangs album. Carney, who also produced Tennis' latest record, Young and Old, is behind the decks for the band's third record. Read our 2011 interview with Royal Bangs HERE.

Shoe-gaze rockers Crocodiles will release Endless Flowers, their new record, in June. Take a look at the tracklisting below:
01) Endless Flowers
02) Sunday (Psychic Conversation #9)
03) No Black Clouds for Dee Dee
04) Electric Death Song
05) Hung Up on a Flower
06) My Surfing Lucifer
07) Dark Alleys
08) Bubblegum Trash
09) Welcome Trouble
10) You Are Forgiven

Speaking to a Chilean radio station, Chino Moreno has confirmed that Deftones will enter the studio in July and begin working on their new album.

What many thought was an April Fool's gag, has been confirmed as the truth - Viva Brother have broken up. The band took to Facebook to say these parting words:"Thank you from the bottom of our hearts to everyone that has ever supported us. It has been an unbelievable journey. This is us signing off. Goodbye." They also left fans with one parting song:
In 2011 we interviewed Viva Brother, take a look at that interview HERE.