Tuesday, September 25, 2012

Quick News

Coldplay will cap off their massive touring year with a live album in November called Live 2012. Much like they did for their Live 2003 record, they hand selected their favorite cuts from various shows around the world. Also like Live 2003, their will be a version of the record that comes with a live DVD.

Following a reported on-stage "meltdown" at the iHeartRadio Festival in Vegas over the weekend, Green Day front man Billie Joe Armstrong has checked himself into rehab. The band have postponed all current dates and appearances.

Tegan and Sara have named their new record, the album Heartthrob will be out later this year.

Former Thursday frontman Goeff Rickley will be releasing a free mixtape in the coming weeks. Rickley tweeted,"Mix tape #1 coming soon. Free new songs for everyone that supported @thursdayband for the last 15 years. xo -G W Rickly"

Odd Future spin-off group, Mellowhype will release their new album Numbers next month. Take a look at the tracklisting below:
01 Grill
02 65/Breakfast
03 Astro [ft. Frank Ocean]
04 Nfwgjdsh
05 La Bonita
06 Beat
07 Snare
08 Untitled L
09 Leflair
10 Monster
11 666 [ft. Mike G]
12 P2 [ft. Earl Sweatshirt]
13 Gnc
14 Brain
15 Under 2
16 Break

The legendary Throbbing Gristle have shared details of their new album. It will be a double album that contains a  reinterpretation of Nico's 1970 album Desertshore and another album, The Final Report. The double album will be out on November 26. The Desertshore cover album has been in the works for a while but production on the project stopped after Gristle member Peter "Sleazy" Christopherson passed away in 2010. The band chose to release the record on that particular day in November because it is the second anniversary of his death. The covers record will contain contributions from Antony of Antony and the Johnsons, Marc Almond of Soft Cell, Blixa Bargeld, Sasha Grey, and Gaspar NoĆ©.

English band Chapel Club are doing something really unique and amazing. The band launched a new project, something they don't think anyone has done before and the basis is for fans and musicians to remix one of their new songs, "Good Together" and they will let the person or persons behind the remixes keep the royalties and money should they sell the song. For more info, go to the band's site by clicking HERE and to download the stems.

How To Destroy Angels have released the cover of their new EP, take a look below, the EP arrives in November.