Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Quick News

Depeche Mode's Martin Gore has confirmed that the band will return to the studio in March to begin work on a new album. They hope to have it out by the end of the year.

Hardcore heroes The Bronx have confirmed via Facebook they begun work on their fourth studio album.

Bill Ward, who will not be joining Black Sabbath on their reunion tour thanks to contract issues, says he has not quit the band but would like a fair contract. He said in a open letter, "At the earliest opportunity, I am prepared to go to the U.K. and record, and later tour with the band," he the continued, "Last week, we sent further communication to the attorney handling the negotiations to try to reach an agreement. At this time we are waiting to hear back. I remain hopeful for a 'signable' contract and a positive outcome." In related news, the actual Black Sabbath tour has been renamed "Ozzy and Friends" due to guitarist Tony Iommi's ongoing cancer treatment. Iommi, who was diagnosed earlier this year was given the clear from doctors to go and tour and record, however, now things have changed with his situation.

Sad news to report, MC5 bassist Michael Davis died of liver failure over the weekend. The Detroit rocker was 68.

Gaslight Anthem have finished the principle recording of their latest record, they hope to have it out by years end.

Unreleased demo's from Ramones singer, the late-Joey Ramone will be released in May. The new collection entitled, Ya Know, was put together by his brother Mickey Leigh and new overdubs were put together by Joan Jett, Little Steven Van Zandt, members of Cheap Trick, Leigh and Richie Ramone. This is the second posthumous release from Joey, who died of lymphoma in 2001. In 2010 we interviewed Ramone's brother, Mickey Leigh, take a listen to our interview HERE.

Blur, who just performed tonight at Brit Awards will close the 2012 Olympic games, which are held in London this summer. The band will headline the "Best of British Closing Ceremony" along with New Order and The Specials.

Ahead of releasing their new album, This is PiL, Public Image Ltd will release an EP entitled One Drop for Record Store Day. Take a look at the four-song tracklisting to One Drop below:
One Drop'
'I Must Be Dreaming'
'The Room I Am In'
'Lollipop Opera'