Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Quick News

Underworld have been tapped to score the upcoming 2012 Olympics in London next summer thanks to being picked by creative curator and opening night director, Danny Boyle. The Oscar winning director of Slumdog Millionaire has worked with Underworld in the past as they contributed the single "Born Slippy" to Boyle's breakout Trainspotting and scored his film, Sunshine as well as his recent stage adaptation of Frankenstein. Boyle says ‘Appointing Underworld to direct the music in the Olympic Opening Ceremony is the final piece of the jigsaw for the team of leading British creatives who will deliver the ceremonies. What’s interesting about working with them is how much broader their taste is than you might imagine. With ‘Frankenstein’ we really saw how far we could take a broader approach than we'd used together on the films.’

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced the Class of 2012 inductees as Guns N Roses, Beastie Boys, Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Small Faces / The Faces, Donovan will all receive the honor. Left out of this year's class is influential band The Cure. The ceremony takes place this spring at the Hall of Fame in Cleveland, Ohio and no word yet if Guns N Roses or The Small Faces / Faces will reunite.

Ladyhawke has released some info on her much anticipated sophomore release, the album, Anxiety will be out March 5.

The last two years, Trent Reznor has spent working on David Fincher's film scores has pushed his other bands to the side. Reznor tells BBC DJ Zane Lowe that he will be returning to craft new Nine Inch Nails music next year, he says "I plan on spending a good portion of this year coming up writing with that in mind. Let's see what happens." Reznor's other band, How to Destroy Angels, which features his wife and film score partner, Atticus Ross are also expected to release their long awaited debut next year as well.

Blur member Alex James NME that "Blur are meeting up over Christmas." Very exciting news! Even more exciting, he added "We'll probably record again." NICE! James did hint though that the recordings may not come in the form of a new album, just as singles, in any case - we will take it!

As we reported last week that the new Sleigh Bells album will be called Reign of Terror, more info have been given. The record will be released on Valentines Day. Take a look at the track listing below:
01 True Shred Guitar
02 Born to Lose
03 Crush
04 End of the Line
05 Leader of the Pack
06 Comeback Kid
07 Demons
08 Road to Hell
09 You Lost Me
10 Never Say Die
11 D.O.A.

Also giving new details about their new record, Spiritualized main man J. Pierce or J. Spaceman as he likes to be called these days, will be calling the bands new record - Sweet Heart Sweet Light, the album will arrive in March. Take a look at the track listing below:
'Hey Jane'
'Little Girl'
'Get What You Want'
'Too Late'
'Heading For The Top'
'I Am What I Am'
'Life Is A Problem'
'So Long You Pretty Things'