Thursday, March 20, 2014

Quick News

 If anyone was hoping for a new Raconteurs album, think again. Brendan Benson of the band told Billboard that the prospect of a new album is "Kind of off the table." He then spoke about the band's hiatus, "We never planned anything. We never planned a breakup. It always felt spontaneous. I liked that about it, too.”

After the emergence of a brand new Wu-Tang song, "Keep Watch," Raekwon spoke his mind about his ongoing battle with RZA and his disapproval of new Wu-Tang Clan material. He said to Grantland, "I would be the first one to say that we cannot leave everything in RZA’s hand no more,” Rae says. “He has done his job to the greatest of his ability when we were younger, but now every man plays an imperative role in this situation. His plan was to do a more humble album. We was like, Nah. You can’t do that with the hardest group in the game. “It’s like getting the United Nations to all agree on one fucking thing. Italy ain’t having it. Japan is on some shit. You know what I mean? Now, here it is, the 20-year anniversary that’s so decoratedly respected that we might not even be on time for this shit.”

Reports have confirmed that Stooges drummer Scott Asheton passed away this week of a heart attack. His longtime bandmate and friend, Iggy Pop remembered him in a Rolling Stone article. Pop said, "Scott just had a certain dignity about him and everyone was always glad to have him in the room. He looked like he could be a tough customer, but I never even heard of him flicking a fly." He then went on to talk about the future of The Stooges saying, "I don't want to say that I'm done with the band. I would just say that I feel like the group has always included the Asheton brothers. When Ron passed away, Scott represented him. Nearly everything we play, Ron played on originally. I don't feel right now like there's any reason for me to go jumping out onstage in tight Levi's. What am I going to scream about? I just can't see the band playing in the near future. It would just be wrong. But if something comes up, you should be open to it. It depends on the feeling of the family and the surviving members.

Ratking have announced that they will release their debut album, So It Goes, next month. Take a look at the tracklisting below:
'Snow Beach'
'So Sick Stories (ft. King Krule)'
'Remove Ya' 'Eat'
'So It Goes'
'Puerto Rican Judo (ft. Wavy Spice)'
'Protein' 'Bug Fights'
'Take (ft. Salomon Faye)'

Lykke Li shared the cover to her new album, I Never Learn, which arrives in May. Take a look below:

Melvins frontman Buzz Osborne will release his debut solo album, This Machine Kills Artists in June. Take a look at the tracklisting below:
  1. Dark Brown Teeth
  2. Rough Democracy
  3. Laid Back Walking
  4. Drunken Baby
  5. Vaulting Over A Microphone
  6. New River
  7. The Vulgar Joke
  8. Everything's Easy For You
  9. The Ripping Driving
  10. How I Became Offensive
  11. Instrument of God
  12. The Spoiled Brat
  13. Illegal Mona
  14. Good and Hostile
  15. The Blithering Idiot
  16. Useless King of the Punks
  17. The Hesitation Twist