Monday, March 31, 2014

Quick News

Robert Smith is opening up about the forthcoming Cure album, 4:14 Scream, the sequel to 2008's 4:13 Dream. Speaking to XFM, Smith does not seem to be too thrilled about the upcoming record, saying, "We're in a weird predicament in that I've finished singing and mixing an album that was made by a band that no longer exists. I'm not sure it happens that often. This band is trying to make an album with this lineup, and it's an album that I'm tempted to make, that's really different to anything else we've done. So trying to be convinced that I should release the second half of what is an effectively an album that came out in 2008, it's a bit of a sore point, really, to be honest, amongst this current lineup." He then went on to say that 4:14 Scream will be released this summer and with The Cure's current line-up they will be recording a new album soon.

 Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers will release their new album, Hypnotic Eye, this summer.

Odd Future fans hoping to hear Earl Sweatshirt and Tyler, The Creator's project, EarlWolf, will be disappointed to find out that Tyler seems to be scrapping the project. He took to his SpringMe page and wrote, "im serious. i dont want to do it anymore and to be honest it will never live up to the expectations of people that really want it. not that that really matters, but, im not in the mindframe to do a whole album of that shit. i dont want to do it. maybe one day when i dont want to make clothing and furniture and gay ass fruity music about lakes and shit, ill get back around to hard hitting raps, but the way things are looking, its only gonna get worse until i turn full fag.”

Taking the music listening experience to a whole new level, former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Fruscante has sent his new album, ENCLOSURE into space. Over the weekend, he sent the album into space and now, fans can download and stream the album via a free app. According to a press release, "When Sat-JF14 hovers over a user's geographic region, ENCLOSURE will be unlocked, allowing users to listen to the album for free on any iOs or Android mobile device."

A brand new Michael Jackson album, XSCAPE will be released in May. The album, which features redone unreleased MJ tracks overseen by L.A. Reid and production by Timbaland, Rodney Jerkins, Stargate, Jerome "Jroc" Harmon, and John McClain. Take a look at the cover below: