Friday, March 11, 2011

Quick News

REM's Peter Buck has shed some light as to why the band will not tour behind their latest, Collapse into Now. The legendary guitarist says to Beatweak that "But it does seem like we've toured a lot in the last eight or ten years. To some degree it felt like we'd just been doing kind of the same thing we did last time. You just don't really want to repeat yourself in that way." Buck then went on to say "In this era in which albums don't tend to sell well regardless, the lack of touring isn't a concern. I'm not really sure that touring sells records. What sells records anymore? It seems like less and less people are buying albums, so do what you want." REM's latest, Collapse into Now was released earlier this week.

Trent Reznor gave a few updates as to what he is doing in the beging of the week and now is giving more. Going back to Nine Inch Nails' forum, he says that he is no longer attached to the Abraham Lincoln:Vampire Killer film in both acting and music roles. He then went on to add that he is back to fully developing his long awaited Year Zero mini-series for HBO, which is based off NIN's 2007 album of the same name.

Much like Deftones, Foo Fighters will be releasing an album of covers for Record Store Day. The band collection, Medium Rare, will feature famous covers the band has done through the years such as Prince's "Darling Nikki" and Gerry Rafferty's "Baker Street." Take a look at the full rundown and track listing of Medium Rare below:

'Band On The Run' (Paul McCartney and Wings)
'I Feel Free' (Cream)
'Life Of Illusion' (Joe Walsh)
'Young Man Blues' (Mose Allison)
'Bad Reputation' (Thin Lizzy)
'Darling Nikki' (Prince)
'Down In The Park' (Gary Numan)
'Baker Street' (Gerry Rafferty)
'Danny Says' (The Ramones)
'Have A Cigar' (Pink Floyd)
'Never Talking To You Again' (Husker Du)
'Gas Chamber' (Angry Samoans)
'This Will Be Our Year' (The Zombies)

Whatever People Say I Am, Is What I Am Not. Favourite Worst Nightmare. Humbug. The Arctic Monkey's really know how to title a record, but nothing can be as funny and phallic as their latest, Suck It and See. Indeed, that is the title of Monkey's forthcoming fourth album - Suck It and See. It arrives in Europe on June 6 and in the US the following day. Here is the track listing:

01. She's Thunderstorms
02. Black Treacle
03. Brick by Brick
04. The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala
05. Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved Your Chair
06. Library Pictures
07. All My Own Stunts
08. Reckless Serenade
09. Piledriver Waltz
10. Love is a Laserquest
11. Suck It and See
12. That's Where You're Wrong