Friday, November 23, 2012

Quick News

Fans of Coldplay are going to have to wait a long time for new material as the band confirmed at a gig in Australia that they are taking a three year break from each other at the end of their current world tour.

Noel Gallagher is stepping in for Rodger Daltrey and will curate the 2013 Teenage Cancer Trust concerts in London for 2013.

The Rolling Stones have confirmed that original bassist, Bill Wyman and guitarist Mick Taylor will join the band at their London 50th anniversary concerts next month.

After telling Billboard magazine that Rage Against the Machine have "no plans" to record new material, guitarist Tom Morello elaborated to NME. Morello said, "When bands make albums it's because everybody wants to, and that's not the case with Rage Against The Machine at the moment. Everyone in the band gets along very well, we consider each other friends and comrades in arms, but people sometimes don't feel ready to do it. I don't have one minute of one day that's not filled with music, or politics, or family. If at some point Rage were to get it together to work more I would be open to that, but that's not on the table right now."

A film about late INXS front man Michael Hutchence is being produced by his mother and sister, the film entitled Two Worlds Colliding. No release date has been set.

After undergoing a successful vocal chord surgery to eliminate nodules on her vocal chords, Bjork took to her website and said, "A few years ago doctors found a vocal polyp on me chords. I decided to go the natural way and for four years did stretches and tackled it with different foods and what not. Then they discovered better technology and i got tempted into hi-tech laser stuff and I have to say, in my case anyway: surgery rocks! I stayed quiet for three weeks and then started singing and definitely feel like my chords are as good as pre nodule! It's been very satisfying to sing all them clear notes again. I'm sorry I had to cancel stuff earlier in the year, didn't want to talk about this until I knew for sure if it would work. So looking forward to singing for you in 2013 all the warmth."

Green Day will release a documentary called Quatro! in 2013. The film will chronicle the making of their 2012 triology of records - Uno! Dos! Tre!

The Cribs are set to release a retrospective record called Payola in February.

The Klaxons are currently in the studio making their long awaited third record and Jamie Reynolds told Zane Lowe on his BBC radio show, "We’ve worked with loads of different people, but it’s been a learning process I think," he said. "We have learned to make electronic music with computers, that’s been our mission over the last however long... [it's] been about a year’s worth of learning electronics and computers, which is something that we didn’t know anything about. I wouldn’t know how to have made an electronic drumbeat until this time last year."

After leaving Velvet Revolver in 2008, Scott Weiland says he is now open for a reunion with his former bandmates that include ex-Guns N' Roses members Slash, Duff McKagen, Matt Sorum. Weiland told Rolling Stone, "I am completely open to it and I know there are other guys in the band that are completely open to it. There have been some things that have stood in the way that aren't anything that have to do with the band – just other players, agents."

A rare 1980 Joy Division concert has been made available via engineer Drew Crumbaugh's blog. Download it HERE.

Beck is currently working on a new record which he hopes to have out next year.

Various news outlets are reporting that jailed Pussy Riot member Maria Alyokhina has been moved to a single cell. "Some tensions arose in relationships and, apparently to prevent this situation from escalating, she decided to submit a request to the prison leadership and they moved her to a one-person cell," a prison service spokeswoman said to Reuters.

After undergoing surgery Jane's Addiction front man Perry Farrell has struck a vein, in writing terms, and has written nearly 60 new Jane's songs while confined to a bed recovering. Farrell told Rolling Stone, "I haven't written this much or been this prolific since I started when I was in my 20s," says the 53-year-old. "It's been coming out fantastic. I'm super excited. Everything will really start to jell and come together probably this time next year."

Big Boi is set to release Vicious Lies and Dangerous Rumors next month. Take a look at the tracklisting for the Outkast members sophomore solo album.
1. Ascending
2. The Thickets feat. Sleepy Brown
3. Apple Of My Eye
4. Objectum Sexuality feat. Phantogram
5. In The A feat. T.I. & Ludacris
6. She Hates Me feat. KiD CuDi
7. CPU feat. Phantogram
8. Thom Pettie feat. Little Dragon & Killer Mike
9. Mama Told Me feat. Kelly Rowland
10. Lines feat. A$AP Rocky & Phantogram
11. Shoes For Running feat. B.o.B. & Wavves
12. Raspberries feat. Mouche & Scar
13. Tremendous Damage feat. Bosko
14. Descending feat. Little Dragon