Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Quick News

Coldplay will release their Mylo Xyloto comic book Saturday for Record Store Day. The comic, based off the title and songs of their lackluster 2011 release of the same name, will be the first of three installments released for RDS.

Much like he did with Joy Division's first two albums, former Joy Division and New Order bassist Peter Hook has been on tour with his band The Light, performing New Order's first two albums in full. Hooky is now releasing a live album featuring Movement, and Power, Corruption, and Lies, you can listen to songs and pre-order HERE.

Yuck singer Daniel Blumberg has left the British band for a solo career. They vow to continue on without him, and already are looking to record their new album in New York.

While Pulp is back on hiatus, Jarvis Cocker is back to being a book worm. The singer will release a book on the history of British folk clubs for Faber and Faber. Cocker, the Editor-at-large for the publisher will not be writing the book, but has acquired the book, Singing From The Floor by JP Bean to release.

Former Pantera and Down frontman Phil Anselmo will release his solo album, Walk Through Exits Only on July 16.

Deftones drummer Stephen Carpenter has released a statement via Facebook, over the loss of his friend and former bandmate Chi Cheng, who died on Saturday. Carpenter said, "There are so many things I can say, and yet, at this moment, none of it matters or compares to the loss everyone feels. There will be a hole in our lives where Chi once was. But that will be filled everyday with all of our love and memories we all have in our heart.He will always be here because of love. It's time we all give our love and best, and do our best to love. Especially ourselves, Chi would want that for everyone. All our healing will begin with love. I love you Chi."

Mega bassist Thundercat has announced his new album, Apocalypse, which will be released on July 8 via Brainfeeder. Flying Lotus served as the executive producer, take a look at the tracklisting below:
01 Tenfold
02 Heartbreaks + Setbacks
03 The Life Aquatic
04 Special Stage
05 Tron Song
06 Seven      
07 Oh Sheit It's X
08 Without You
09 Lotus and the Jondy
10 Evangelion
11 We'll Die
12 A Message for Austin / Praise the Lord / Enter the Void

Using the latest social media format, Vine, Daft Punk released the tracklisting to their new album, Random Access Memories, which arrives next month. Take a look at the tracklisting below:
01 Give Life Back to Music
02 The Game of Love
03 Giorgio by Moroder
04 Within
05 Instant Crush
06 Lose Yourself to Dance
07 Touch
08 Get Lucky
09 Beyond
10 Motherboard
11 Fragments of Time
12 Doin' It Right
13 Contact

Beady Eye have released the NSFW cover to their forthcoming, David Sitek produced second record, BE. Take a look below: