Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Noel Gallagher Solo Details!

At a press conference today in London, Noel Gallagher announced his first official solo plans nearly two years after his infamous departure from Oasis. Noel spoke about his forthcoming albums and took questions from the press in attendance. We were invited to go however due to our base in New York could not get to London in time for the event, we did however follow the full event online.

Opening the presser with "Let the battle commence," Noel went right to his guns to defend his work, songs and discuss his future. A breakdown as to what happened is that Noel has activated a Facebook, Twitter and web account for all of his future solo plans and way to keep fans up to date. Noel will release two records between this fall and 2012. One of the albums, Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds will arrive in October in UK and Europe and in November here in the US. His other record, an untitled companion dance album with Amorphous Androgynous from The Future Sounds of London will come next year. Noel will also hit the road this fall with his band and will in fact play Oasis material, unlike what Liam and the former members of Oasis are doing with Beady Eye on the road.

Take a look at the track listing for Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds below:
01 Everybody's on the Run
02 Dream On
03 If I Had a Gun...
04 The Death of You and Me
05 (I Wanna Live in a Dream in My) Record Machine
06 AKA... What a Life!
07 Soldier Boys and Jesus Freaks
08 AKA... Broken Arrow
09 (Stranded On) The Wrong Beach
10 Stop the Clocks

Oasis split in 2009 before they took to the stage in France when the brothers got into a heated argument and Noel says that Liam threw a guitar at him. Noel said at the presser today, "Liam nearly took my head off" he then continued on to say "I hadn't had enough of Oasis, I'd had enough of Liam." Liam would then take to twitter and tweet "SHITBAG" in response to his older brothers announcements and words today. It is most certainly on now more than ever between the brothers as Beady Eye has raised the bar with their great debut, Different Gear, Still Speeding and Liam proving he can write great songs on his own and has the rest of the band with him. While Noel, who always wrote and arranged Oasis' material is taking his talents with some hired guns for the road, will have to match that acclaim of Liam and make it truly by himself.

Watch Noel Gallagher's press conference in full in the video below:

Photo by Lawrence Watson for