Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Quick News

The first four Ramones albums will be reissued on 180 Gram Vinyl via Rhino Record. The records, Ramones, Leave Home, Rocket to Russia and Road to Ruin will each be sold in a accurate portrayal to the original packaging and will be sold in stores. Deluxe editions of the albums will be sold on Rhino.com and will feature bonus 7" records containing B-sides and singles on blue vinyl, those will be slightly more in price but worth it.

Just hours after we covered their opening slot for Soundgarden, Coheed and Cambria hit a major shakeup as their bassist Michael Todd was arrested for holding up a Walgreens in Massachusetts in demand for Oxycontin. Todd threatened the pharmacy that he had a bomb, he made off with six bottles of the painkiller and fled in a cab. Police were able to track Todd at Comcast Center before he did a gig with Coheed opening for Soundgarden again at the venue. He has been replaced by Wes Styles, a longtime member of the Coheed family. Todd was slapped with a $25K bail. Coheed placed in a statement on their website "Michael Todd was arrested today on what we consider very serious charges and therefore he will not be finishing up the current tour."

Since announcing his departure from Gallows at the end of the bands current tour, Frank Carter has already posted material from his new band Pure Love. Take a listen HERE.

Legendary punk and poet, Patti Smith will release a new Greatest Hits compilation, Outside Society, it will be an 18 track album chronicling her career. It will be out in September.

Hold Steady front man, Craig Finn is working on a solo project, he is currently in Austin working with producer Mike McCarthy. Hold Steady fans should not worry, in a post on his Tumbler page, Finn said that The Hold Steady will begin working on a new album in September.

Bush will release The Sea of Memories on September 13 via their own Zuma Rock Records. The record was produced by Bob Rock and is the band's first studio album in ten years, however the first without guitarist Nigel Pulsford and bassist Dave Parsons, leaving Gavin Rossdale and Robin Goodrich the only original members of the band. Musicians Chris Traynor and Corey Britz are working in the band now.

We Were Promised Jetpacks delivered the cover of their new album, In the Pit of the Stomach this week. The album arrives on October 4, take a look at the cover below: