Monday, May 19, 2014

Quick News

From prestige to party -- Andrew W.K. is set to address The Oxford Union, the most prestigious debate society in the world at England's Oxford University. Taking place on June 13th, 2014, W.K.’s keynote, titled Andrew W.K. and The Philosophy of Partying, will discuss his signature message of positive power and celebratory self-confidence.

Nas has announced the start of his own record label --- Mass Appeal Records, a label that will allow him to own all of his own music once his contract with Def Jam expires at the end of the year. The label will also release compilations, and Nas' catalog including unreleased material, as well as the long-awaited, The Lost Tapes 2.  Speaking to Billboard, Nas said, "I'm excited to be a part of creating and supporting future careers and legacy artists, promoting love and finding new genius to help the world. I'm going to be as involved as I need to be, but I also want to be respectful of the art and give artists the space they need to grow and become themselves."

The Flaming Lips have confirmed that they will be releasing their Sgnt. Pepper's covers record on October 28.

Going on Twitter, Cedric Bixler-Zavala has announced that early Mars Volta records will be given a proper vinyl reissue. No word yet as to when they will be pressed.

Wilco's Jeff Tweedy will be releasing a solo-album at some point this year. The singer will be hitting the road this summer and with the announcement of the tour also came confirmation he is releasing his solo debut. No further information has been given at press time.

While Jenny Lewis announced she will be releasing her latest solo album, The Voyager,  in July, she has now released the tracklisting to the upcoming LP. Take a look:
01 Head Underwater
02 She's Not Me
03 Just One of the Guys
04 Slippery Slopes
05 Late Bloomer
06 You Can't Outrun 'Em
07 The New You
08 Aloha & the Three Johns
09 Love U Forever
10 The Voyager