Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Beck Announces Actual 'Song Reader' Album

In 2012, Beck released a series of sheet music scores for an album he did not record, but simply composed called Song Reader. Now, the musical mastermind will release the album so fans who do not play instruments can hear it, however, it comes with a catch, not all of the songs will feature Beck himself. A majority of the songs will be done by Beck's colleagues. 

Song Reader the album arrives at the end of this month. Take a look at the cover, above, and the star-studded tracklisting, below:

01 Moses Sumney: "Title of this Song"
02 Fun.: "Please Leave A Light On When You Go"
03 Tweedy: "The Wolf is on the Hill"
04 Norah Jones: "Just Noise"
05 Lord Huron: "Last Night You Were A Dream"
06 Bob Forrest: "Saint Dude"
07 Jack White: "I’m Down"
08 Beck: "Heaven’s Ladder"
09 Juanes: "Don’t Act Like Your Heart Isn’t Hard"
10 Laura Marling: "Sorry"
11 Jarvis Cocker: "Eyes That Say 'I Love You'"
12 David Johansen: "Rough On Rats"
13 Jason Isbell: "Now That Your Dollar Bills Have Sprouted Wings"
14 The Last Polka: "Marc Ribot"
15 Eleanor Friedberger: "Old Shanghai"
16 Sparks: "Why Did You Make Me Care?"
17 Swamp Dogg: "America, Here’s My Boy"
18 Jack Black: "We All Wear Cloaks"
19 Loudon Wainwright III: "Do We? We Do"
20 Gabriel Kahane with Ymusic: "Mutilation Rag"