Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Quick News

Action Bronson will release his collaboration with Harry Fraud, SAAB Stories, next month.

Placebo will release their new album, Loud Like Love in September.

Tame Impala bassist Nick Allbrook has left the band to pursue other work. The band will continue on without him.

The Plaza Joe Strummer has opened in Granada, Spain, and honors the late Clash frontman. Strummer mentioned the city in the Clash track, "Spanish Bombs," and it was always one of the singers favorite destinations. The plaza was named after a Facebook petition was started by fans and City hall spokeswoman María José Anguita commented, "There was a popular petition for this to happen and the city hall accepted it."

Incarcerated Pussy Riot member Maria Alyokhina has gone on a hunger strike because she was refused the right to attend her own parole hearing and says her rights have been violated. Paul McCartney has come to her aid and written a letter to show support and said, "My personal belief is that further incarceration for Maria will be harmful for her and the situation as a whole, which, of course, is being watched by people all over the world. In the great tradition of fair-mindedness which the Russian people (many of whom are my friends) are famous for, I believe that you granting this request would send a very positive message to all the people who have followed this case."

Metallica have spoken to Billboard to give and update on their new record. Bassist Rob Trujillo said,"The work ethic is super, super strong, and that's what takes us longer than other bands, because we're sitting there and sometimes we're really analysing things. I mean, for every one lyric, [James] Hetfield has, like three lyric possibilities. But I can tell you this; the grooves and the riffs that are already on the radar are really, really awesome. We've still got more riffs to go through and jam out and throw into the process, but we're getting there, and we'll have something great, hopefully, in the next year."

As previously reported, former Queens of the Stone Age bassist and backing vocalist Nick Oliveri will appear on the bands forthcoming album ....Like Clockwork. Speaking to NME singer Josh Homme spoke about how the reunion came together, "Nick recorded his record [with his band Mondo Generator] at my studio and he was dropping some vinyl off and was like, 'Er, need background vocals?' and I was like, 'Yeah'. So he sang on 'If I Had A Tail'. Him and Mark Lanegan are going "Oooohohohoooo". It's just friends, you know. And that's good enough for me. It's what it is, not what it was. I know people get hung up on stuff but what am I supposed to do, go door to door and explain the situation?"

No Malice of Clipse will release his solo album, Hear Ye Him in July.

Wale has released the tracklisting to his new album, The Gifted. The record arrives next month, take a look at the tracklisting below:
1. The Curse of the Gifted
2. LoveHate Thing (Ft. Sam Dew)
3. Sunshine
4. Heavin In the Afternoon
5. Golden Salvation (Jesus Piece)
6. Vanity
7. Gullible
8. Bricks
9. Clappers
10. Bad (Remix)
11. Tired of Dreaming
12. Rotation
13. Simple Man
14. 88
15. Black Heroes
16. Bad (Ft. Tiara Thomas)