Thursday, November 14, 2013

Africa Express Debut Album Details

The long awaited debut from Damon Albarn's Africa Express project is finally coming digitally next month. This past fall, Albarn brought friends Ghostpoet, Idris Elba, Nick Zinner of Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Brian Eno, and many more to Mali and linked up with local musicians in Bamako for a week and crafted Africa Express' first album.

The Africa Express project is something Albarn has been working on for years as a tour and a released a few singles, but finally, the debut album Africa Express Presents: Maison Des Jeunes will arrive in December. In 2014, a physical version of the album is rumored to be coming. In the meantime, take a look at the cover art above, and the tracklisting below as well as the video for "Soubour."

01 Adama Koita: "Fantainfalla Toyi Bolo" (Produced by Two Inch Punch)
02 Songhoy Blues: "Soubour" (Produced by Nick Zinner & Remi Kabaka)
03 Ghostpoet feat. Doucoura: "Season Change" (Produced by Two Inch Punch & Damon Albarn)
04 Bijou: "Dougoudé Sarrafo" (Produced by Damon Albarn)
05 Lil Silva: "Bouramsy" (Produced by Lil Silva)
06 Talbi: "Rapou Kanou" (Produced by Two Inch Punch)
07 Gambari ft. Kankou Kouyaté: "Yamore" (Produced by Damon Albarn)
08 Yacouba Sissoko Band: "Chanson Denko Tapestry" (Produced by Brian Eno)
09 Lobi Traoré Band: "Deni Kelen Be Koko" (Produced by David Maclean)
10 Moussa Traoré: "Farafina" (Produced by Damon Albarn)
11 Tiemoko Sogodogo: "Latégué" (Produced by Brian Eno)