Thursday, February 18, 2016

Quick News

Metallica will be reissuing their first two albums, Kill 'Em All and Ride the Lightning next month as CD, vinyl, and Deluxe Box set. Both Deluxe Box sets include original source material from the band's personal collection with many never before heard or seen recordings, along with a book including rare photos and essays from those who were there.

Much like Red Hot Chili Peppers and Coldplay, Dave Grohl told Playboy he was turned down by David Bowie for a collaboration. He said: "We played at his 50th birthday party at Madison Square Garden, and that was the last time I saw him. About two years ago, I got approached by this movie to do a song for the movie, so I thought, 'Maybe I'll have someone else sing. I'll do the music and then have another vocalist.' And then I thought, "Maybe I'll ask and see if David would do it.' So the next day I get an email and it said, 'David, I watched the movie and I got to be honest, it's not my thing.' He said, 'I'm not made for these times. So thanks, but I think I'm gonna sit this one out.'"

Speaking of Bowie, Glastobury organizers have promised they will pay tribute to him in a special way at June's annual festival.

The Boxer Rebellion will release their new album, Ocean By Ocean, in April. Take a look at the tracklisting, below:
01. Weapon
02. Big Ideas
03. Let’s Disappear
04. Pull Yourself Together
05. Firework
06. Keep Me Close
07. Redemption
08. The Fog I Was Lost In
09. You Can Love Me
10. Let It Go

Speaking to The PRP, Daryl Palumbo has said that Glassjaw are almost done recording their first record in 14 years. He said: "I’d say it’s near completion. We’re pretty far ahead. We kind of have a release date, but it’s not a hundred percent. By the time this article comes out, I imagine we’ll have one.” He also said that George Reynolds, the singer of fellow Long Island band, Mind Over Matter, will appear on the record.

Ricky Wilson of Kaiser Chiefs told NME that the band are currently in the studio. He said: "We're recording it. We're back in the studio, I was in the studio this morning. Back in the studio tomorrow. I think it's going to be ready [for release] in June or August." He also said: "For the last ten years, I thought to write a universal song to appeal to everybody you had to talk about big topics… but we've never really written love songs. But then we've started to realise that it's the personal politics that actually hit close to home emotionally. So it's more of what people care about, which is what's going on inside."