Saturday, June 1, 2013

Quick News

Chad Smith of Red Hot Chili Peppers have confirmed that the iconic band will head back into the studio in September to work on a new album.

Slayer have confirmed that Dave Lombardo will not be returning to the band as their drummer. After a massive dispute between Lombardo and the rest of the band, he refused to join the band on their Australian tour earlier this year, now, the band has mentioned that Paul Bostaph will replace Lombardo as their new permanent drummer.

The Johnny Cash museum has officially opened in Nashville, Tennessee. The museum is chock full of items from the singers life and will serve as a sort of Graceland-eque place for fans from all over to remember the iconic singer.

Speaking at the premiere of their new documentary, Made of Stone, The Stone Roses' John Squire has confirmed that the band are working on new material. Squire told reporters, "We're working on it. It'll be ready in about five years. We've got a few new songs. I can't really tell you much about it. We won't be playing the songs live until we've recorded them. We're working on it this year."

After their surprising collaboration last month at KROQ Weenie Roast, Chester Bennington is speaking about the future and his involvement with Stone Temple Pilots after it was revealed he is replacing Scott Weiland as the bands frontman. Bennington told Rolling Stone, "Everything we're doing is on our own, so we're just taking it one track at a time. We would love to sit down and hammer out a record, but the reality is we're gonna make music, we're gonna make a lot of it, and we're gonna be in a position to release a single at a time, go out and really give people music the way they want to get it. It is a good position to be in, and for us, all we care about is going out, making the legacy as great as it needs to be, as great as people expect it to be, and coming out with new music that lives up to that standard."

Also speaking to Rolling Stone, James Murphy talked about what it was like working with Arcade Fire on their forthcoming new album. He said, "There's a lot of them, and they're mostly self-produced – like, they don't need a producer in a certain way. So I didn't know how it would go." He then said, "I think it's going to be a really great record, actually. I'm eager to see it come out."

On August 19, LA duo No Age will release their new album, An Object. Take a look at the tracklisting below:
01 No Ground
02 I won’t Be Your Generator
03 C’mon Stimmung
04 Defector/ed
05 An Impression
06 Lock Box
07 Running From A-Go-Go
08 My Hands, Birch and Steel
09 Circling With Dizzy
10 A Ceiling Dreams of a Floor
11 Commerce, Comment, Commence

Kanye West is disspelling rumors as to what the cover of his forthcoming album, Yeezus will look like. West posted the actual cover on his site, take a look below, the album arrives on June 18. Next week, we will be covering West's performance at Governors Ball in NYC.