Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Quick News


Prince's sister, Tyka, has said that she plans on releasing the music from her late brother's vault which has been the subject of much mystery even when he was alive. The vault inside his Paisley Park compound has been guarded under lock and key for decades and now it will see the light of day. "I want what Prince wants. We have to preserve everything," she told The Sun recently. "As soon as we can release it, don’t worry — we sure will."

Morrissey will release a new album, Low in High School, later this year.

After years of speculating, King Krule has confirmed that he and Frank Ocean have worked together, including one time in 2013, but the man whose real name is Archy Marshall, told Pitchfork that he believes the Blond singer didn't like what he offered. "His work rate’s crazy; he creates album after album. I don’t know what goes through his head. He’s a different kind of cat. He came down and he wanted me to do something for his record, but I don’t think he liked it," Krule said. He also added that he worked with Earl Sweatshirt and did the beat to "Death Whistles," saying: "It was probably like 5 in the morning. And we made this beat, [which] basically came out of the fact that he was like, ‘This beat’s trash.’ And he slowed it down, super. And he was like, ‘This is some good shit.’ [laughs] I was like, ‘Aight.’”

Billy Corgan, now going under his full name, William Patrick Corgan, will release his solo debut, Oligaga, in October. The record was produced by Rick Rubin. In a press release, Corgan said: "For as long as I can remember the delineation point between songs I wrote for myself and songs I’d pen for whatever band was something I couldn’t explain. And it remains so, for they all feel quite personal to me, no matter their time orera. The lone difference on songs for Ogilala is that they seemed to want little in the way of adornment. Having written the songs for voice and guitar, I put myself in Rick’s hands to take the music wherever he’d like. Normally I would have done more, and tinkered more on production, but rather Rick put the onus on me to deliver at a molecular level via live takes. The rest was simply a reaction." He also released the tracklisting, below:
01 Zowie
02 Processional
03 The Spaniards
04 Aeronaut
05 The Long Goodbye
06 Half-Life of an Autodidact
07 Amarinthe
08 Antietam
09 Mandaryne
10 Shiloh
11 Archer