Wednesday, July 11, 2012


While Green Day prep three albums to be released between September and January, the band are also planing to release two documentaries. One of the films will be about the making of the bands latest triology of records and one will be a retrospect about the band from their breakout days with 1994's Dookie to present day. The band hope to release the films and premiere them at Sundance 2013.

Coldplay will release a six-part comic book series about a character named Mylo Xyloto, the title of their 2011 release.

On July 31, Jack White's Third Man Records will release The White Stripes first ever live shows on limited edition vinyl.

Legendary director Spike Lee is working on a documentary about Michael Jackson's Bad album and the world tour that followed. The film is currently in post-production and will be released with a special Bad 25th anniversary edition.

Echo and the Bunnymen's Will Sergent and Les Pattinson have formed a side project together. The band is called Poltergeist and is an all instrumental band, they are currently in Liverpool, England, working on their debut EP.

Sad news to report, famed Frogs keyboardist and former Smashing Pumpkins touring member, Dennis Flemion passed at 57. Flemion allegedly went for a swim and never resurfaced. Flemion was an icon in the indie rock community and filled in for Jonathan Melvoin after he died of a drug overdose in Smashing Pumpkins in the mid-90's. Our thoughts go out to Flemion's family, his bandmates and friends.

Cody ChestnuTT will release his first new album in a decade. The famed guitarist and singer will release Landing on a Hundred in October.

Sir Paul McCartney is currently writing music for the video game company Bungie, the people behind the successful Halo franchise.

Frank Turner gave an update on his current solo album and his hardcore project that he has been working on. The former Million Dead frontman told NME, about his hardcore band and said, "It's me, it's Ben [Dawson] who played me in Million Dead and Matt [Nadir] who plays in the Sleeping Souls, my backing band. Musically it's taking cues from bands like Jesus Lizard, Hot Snakes, Mclusky."He then spoke about a new solo record and said he has a lot of songs under their belt and hope to have the record released in early 2013.

Band of Horses released the tracklisting and title of their forthcoming fourth record. The album, Mirage Rock, will be released in September. Take a look at the tracklisting below:
1. Knock Knock
2. How to Live
3. Slow Cruel Hands of Time
4. A Little Biblical
5. Shut-In Tourist
6. Dumpster World
7. Electric Music
8. Everything's Gonna Be Undone
9. Feud
10. Long Vows
11. Heartbreak on the 101