Wednesday, October 7, 2015

Kurt Cobain's Montage of Heck Album Details Revealed

Next month, the posthumous release from Kurt Cobain and the soundtrack to the documentary, Montage of Heck will be released. Now, the cover and tracklisting has been released.

The documentary's director Brett Morgan spoke to Rolling Stone about the release: "The morality of putting out unfinished work — I know that is a criticism that will be lobbied against the project," he said. "But just like the Bootleg Series furthers your understanding of Bob Dylan's process, I find that Montage of Heck: The Home Recordings furthers not just our understanding of his process but represents yet another angle, another side of Kurt — an artistic outlet that he was not necessarily able to work with in the context of a three-piece band. It's not scraps and discarded, insignificant material. It really is furthering our understanding of one of the most significant artists of our time."

Take a look at the cover, above, and the tracklisting, below, and hear the the demo to "Sappy."

01 The Yodel Song
02 Been a Son (Early Demo)          
03 What More Can I Say    
04 1988 Capitol Lake Jam Commercial        
05 The Happy Guitar          
06 Montage of Kurt            
07 Beans  
08 Burn the Rain  
09 Clean Up Before She Comes (Early Demo)          
10 Reverb Experiment      
11 Montage of Kurt II        
12 Rehash
13 You Can’t Change Me/Burn My Britches/Something in the Way (Early Demo)
14 Scoff (Early Demo)        
15 Aberdeen        
16 Bright Smile      
17 Underground Celebritism          
18 Retreat
19 Desire
20 And I Love Her
21 Sea Monkeys  
22 Sappy (Early Demo)      
23 Letters to Frances          
24 Scream
25 Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle (Demo)        
26 Kurt Ambiance
27 She Only Lies  
28 Kurt Audio Collage        
29  Poison's Gone
30 Rhesus Monkey            
31 Do Re Mi (Medley)