Thursday, March 8, 2012

Quick News

On May 1, seminal punk band Pennywise will return with their new album, All or Nothing.

After working with Gorillaz, Bobby Womack turned to Damon Albarn to produce his new album, The Bravest Man in the Universe. Albarn co-produced the iconic singers latest with Richard Russell, the record also features an appearance by Lana Del Rey. It is Womack's first album in 18 years and it arrives in June. Take a look at the tracklisting below:
'The Bravest Man In The Universe'
'Please Forgive My Heart'
'Deep River'
'Dayglo Reflection'
'Sweet Baby Mine'
'If There Wasn't Something There'
'Love Is Gonna Lift You Up'
'Nothin' Can Save Ya'

Speaking of Damon Albarn, he is, as always, one hell of a busy man. Aside from producing Womack's new record, releasing his new band - Rocketjuice and the Moon's new record later this month, working on new Blur material and new material for The Good, The Bad and The Queen; Albarn will release his solo album, Dr. Dee based on the music of the opera he scored last year of the same name. Take a look at the tracklisting for the album below:
'The Golden Dawn'
'Apple Carts'
'Oh Spirit Animate Us'
'The Moon Exalted'
'A Man of England'
'The Marvelous Dream'
'A Prayer'
'Edward Kelley'
'9 Point Star'
'Temptation Comes In The Afternoon'
'Watching the Fire That Waltzed Away'
'Moon (Interlude)'
'Tree Of Life'
'The Dancing King'

Enigmatic hip-hop supergroup Deltron 3030 are set to release a beer with Dogfish Head brewing company. The company has already released signature beers for Pearl Jam and Miles Davis.

Portishead's Geoff Barrow has cooled the nerves of some fans and has confirmed that, "There's definitely going to be another record," for Portishead, he told The Quietus recently. The band plan to record the album sometime this year at Barrow's house.

Fiona Apple, who has been tip-toeing back into the limelight with her SXSW performances lined up as well as a slew of dates in New York, Apple has announced the rather long title for her forthcoming and anticipated album. The album is entitled, The Idler Wheel is wiser than the Driver of the Screw, and Whipping Cords will serve you more than Ropes will ever do, the record is due out later this year.

Lo-fi indie surf rockers, Beach House have announced the details for their forthcoming new album. The record, Bloom will be released on May 16 via Sub Pop. Take a look at the tracklisting below:
01 Myth
02 Wild
03 Lazuli
04 Other People
05 The Hours
06 Troublemaker
07 New Year
08 Wishes
09 On the Sea
10 Irene

The Walkmen have confirmed they have finished working on their new record. No further details in terms of title were given when they posted the news on their website. The album is expected later this year.

After the success of their score for the film Hannah, The Chemical Brothers will score the film Now You See Me. The film stars Jesse Eisenberg, Morgan Freeman, Common and Woody Harrelson.

Garbage have announced details of their comeback record, the album, Not Your Kind of People will be released on May 15. Take a look at the tracklisting below:
'Automatic Systematic Habit'
'Big Bright World'
'Blood For Poppies'
'Not Your Kind Of People'
'I Hate Love'
'Battle In Me'
'Man On A Wire'
'Beloved Freak'

Frank Turner has confirmed in a recent interview with website that he plans to release a new album in January of next year.