Saturday, March 31, 2012

Quick News

The annual UK loud rock festival, Sonisphere has been cancelled by organizers. The event organizers said in a statement on the festivals website: "Putting the festival together in what is proving to be a very challenging year was more difficult than we anticipated and we have spent the last few months fighting hard to keep Sonisphere in the calendar. Unfortunately circumstances have dictated that we would be unable to run the festival to a standard that both the artists and that Sonisphere’s audience would rightly expect." Ticket holders will receive a full refund, the festival was to feature Queen + Adam Lambert, KISS, Faith No More, Incubus, Wolfmother, The Darkness, Refused, Mastodon, Andrew W.K. and more.

The Walkmen have confirmed the title of their seventh album. The record, Heaven will be released on June 5. Take a look at the cover below:

Snoop Dogg and Major Lazer (Diplo and Switch) are working on a reggae album together. Diplo confirmed the news to MTV. It is the first album that the mega-producer has executive produced and the first non-rap album for Snoop. It should arrive later this year.

Paul Simon will release the 25th anniversary editions to his groundbreaking album, Graceland. The editions vary from a collectors box set, CD/DVD edition, vinyl, and a ultra-deluxe box-set which Simon autographs a poster. These are all expected to arrived on June 5, the same day his documentary Under African Skies, the making of Graceland arrives on DVD.

Jonah Matranga is never one to stay away from social issues. Now he is adding to the chorus of outcries against George Zimmerman, who claims it was self-defense that he shot and killed, unarmed teenager, Trayvon Martin in Florida. Matranga has written and recorded a special song called, "The Lonesome Death of Travyon Martin," you can hear the song and download it HERE.

Confirmed via their blog, Gaslight Anthem have finished recording and mixing their new album, the record will be out later this year.

Hot Water Music have released the tracklisting to their first album in eight years, Exister. Take a look at the tracklisting below:

1. "Mainline" 
2. "Boy, You're Gonna Hurt Someone"
3. "State of Grace"
4. "Down in It"
5. "Drag My Body"
6. "Safety"
7. "Exister"
8. "Wrong Way"
9. "Take No Prisoners"
10. "Pledge Wore Thin"
11. "No End Left in Sight"
12. "The Traps"
13. "Paid in Full"