Monday, October 8, 2012

Quick News

Depeche Mode have released a countdown of sorts on their website, the countdown ticks down to a October 23 press conference in Paris where the band is set to make a "Special Announcement."

New Order will finally release Lost Sirens, a collection of outtakes from their last record, Waiting for the Sirens Call. The album was delayed after an ongoing legal battle with former bassist Peter Hook. Lost Sirens arrives next month.

Screaming Females have been forced to cancel their fall tour. The band released a statement that said, "Since falling ill with mononucleosis in May, Marissa has been experiencing severe chronic pains that have rendered it very difficult for Screaming Females to tour. To ensure that Marissa has adequate time to heal so that Screaming Females can continue, it brings us great sadness to announce that all scheduled dates after October 10th will be cancelled. Thank you for understanding and we will see you all in the very near future."

Frank Turner, who is currently in California working on his new record, has also just launched his own beer. The beer, which is called, Believe, after his single "I Still Believe," is described as a 4.8% Belgian style wheat beer which is said to be "a modern twist on the traditional wheat beer encompassing citrus and orange flavour." The company Signature Brew is releasing the drink.

Speaking to, James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem said he does not feel nostalgic when looking back on breaking up the dance-rock machine that was LCD. He said, "I don't feel that nostalgic because it feels very present. I see all those guys, I see everybody. I'm still in the normal zone of post-tour, pre-record. It doesn't affect me. It's pretty arbitrary. I made records in the studio and then wrote LCD Soundsystem [on them], and they're LCD Soundsystem. I can go and make records and just not write LCD Soundsystem – it's still me making a record, it just means it's the end of that career band which becomes a bit of a self-moving train."

Fans hoping that the recent press appearances together would conjure up another Led Zeppelin reunion can stop holding their breath. Guitarist Jimmy Page told Rolling Stone, "I think if there had been any more concerts to be done, we'd already be talking about them. So I don't see it."

 Indie buzz band, Fidlar, will release their debut album in January via Mom + Pop records. Take a look at the tracklisting below:
1) Cheap Beer
02) Stoked & Broke
03) White on White
04) No Waves
05) Whore
06) Max Can't Surf
07) Black Out Stout
08) Wake Bake Skate
09) Gimme Something
10) Five to Nine
11) LDA
12) Paycheck
13) Wait for the Man
14) Cocaine