Monday, August 3, 2015

Quick News

Bloc Party has lost two members while making their fifth album -- drummer Matt Tong and bassist Gordon Moakes. Now, for the first time since their departure, singer Kele Okereke spoke to Australia's Triple J and said that he and original guitarist Russell Lissack are carrying on. He said of the troubles: "We are a band." He continued: "I do know what the make-up of the band is going to be but I don't think I'm allowed to talk about it just yet because I think things are still being finalised. We are a band. We're better than we ever have been so I'm excited to showcase that." He then went on to describe the record's new sound, as the "most gentle music we've ever made and most abrasive." He continued: "It's sounding awesome, if I do say so myself, but right now we're kind of in the middle of it... beavering away at it." No official release or title has been given.

Singer Bruce Loose has left Flipper citing two decades of back problems as the reason for his departure. The band however, will continue with David Yow of The Jesus Lizard as their new front man.

Arca will release his new album, Mutant, later this year. The producer and singer confirmed the news via Twitter:

Motion City Soundtrack will release their sixth album, Panic Stations, next month. Take a look at the tracklisting, below:
1. Anything At All
2. TKO
3. I Can Feel You
4. Lose Control
5. Heavy Boots
6. It’s A Pleasure To Meet You
7. Over It Now
8. Broken Arrow
9. Gravity
10. The Samurai Code
11. Days Will Run Away