Wednesday, May 18, 2016

Okkervil River Announces New Album

Okkervil River will release their new album, Away, in September. 

In a statement, Will Sheff discussed the making of the album: "2013-2015 had been a strange time for me. I lost some connections in a music industry that was visibly falling apart. Some members of the backing band left, moving on to family life or to their own projects. I spent a good deal of time in hospice sitting with my grandfather, who was my idol, while he died. I felt like I didn’t know where I belonged. When there was trouble at home, a friend offered me her empty house in the Catskills where I could go and clear my head. New songs were coming fast up there, so I set myself the challenge of trying to write enough to make a whole record. I didn’t really think about what the record was going to be or if I’d even release it—the idea was just to write quickly and directly. Eventually, I realized I was kind of writing a death story for a part of my life that had, buried inside of it, a path I could follow that might let me go somewhere new."

Take a look at the cover, above, and the tracklisting, below, and hear the first single "Okkervil River R.I.P."

01 Okkervil River R.I.P.
02 Call Yourself Renee
03 The Industry
04 Comes Indiana Through The Smoke
05 Judey On A Street
06 She Would Look For Me
07 Mary On A Wave
08 Frontman In Heaven
09 Days Spent Floating (In The Halfbetween)